176/3.5. Applying four years after graduating, strong work experience (I think?)

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Amblingalong

New

176/3.5. Applying four years after graduating, strong work experience (I think?)

Post by Amblingalong » Sat Oct 31, 2015 12:04 am

Key facts:
  • I graduated in 2013 from the University of Michigan with mediocre grades - 3.5 GPA (LSAC) and 3.9 in my major (Public Policy)
  • I just got my LSAT score of 176
  • I plan on applying a year from now, so I'd be entering law school in September 2017; however I'd also consider applying now and deferring a year (this is one thing I was hoping to get advice on)
  • I've spent the last four years running political campaigns, including a successful and highly competitive Congressional race that drew national attention; I'm not sure how much this matters
  • I also am a board member of a midsize nonprofit that lobbies on voter rights issues; my 'narrative' for why I want to attend law school will be largely centered on voting rights (is this helpful? A bad idea?)
  • I'm not sure about recommendations; I can absolutely get strong professional references, including officials I've elected and who I have personal relationships with, but I'm honestly not sure my professors would remember me. Given the timeframe, what's the right goal here?
Frankly I don't know where to start; I'd like to attend the best law school I can get into, but I have no idea what that is. Looking at LSN it appears NYU/Georgetown/Michigan are all decently solid, but my GPA is way too low for Harvard, UChicago, Stanford, Columbia, or Yale. How much does my work experience matter? Should I even bother applying?

Thanks for the help!

AnMzungu

Bronze

Re: 176/3.5. Applying four years after graduating, strong work experience (I think?)

Post by AnMzungu » Sat Oct 31, 2015 1:36 am