Unusual Situation Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
yyyzzz250

New

Unusual Situation

Post by yyyzzz250 » Sun Feb 10, 2013 4:55 pm

I have an unusual situation and am interested in learning what my chances are to pursue my desired path. I have an MBA and run my own business, but lately I have been thinking I could benefit from getting a law degree part-time (my industry is very legalistic and contract-oriented). My parents also have a small firm, with a lucrative of counsel relationship with a large firm, and conceivably I could earn some extra money by doing some work for them. I am not interested in pursuing the typical large law firm career path, and I would only attend law school if I received a full scholarship or close to it.

I have an undergrad degree from an Ivy League school, but academics were, to put it mildly, not my highest priority, and my undergrad GPA was a sterling 2.8. I scored a 770 out of 800 on the GMAT and have been scoring in the mid 170's on practice LSAT's. I also served in the military before getting my MBA.

Do I have any chance of getting significant scholarship money at a law school (even a very low-ranked one)? I can run my business remotely, so I am open to any geographic location.

goldeneye

Silver

Re: Unusual Situation

Post by goldeneye » Sun Feb 10, 2013 5:05 pm