Federal Government Resumes Forum

(Issue areas, International Law, International Public Interest, Public Service in the private sector, Non-Profits, Public Interest Organizations, Government/ government agencies, employment settings)
DATlsatBOI

New

Federal Government Resumes

Post by DATlsatBOI » Mon Jun 12, 2023 1:21 pm

Hi all. I am currently an Honors Attorney with EOIR, beginning to search for new opportunities as we are placed on a 2-year term. I've been workshopping my resume to accommodate the federal format, but there are so many resources online that have vastly different opinions on what this format should exactly consist of. Even mentors within my own organization and career services staff specializing in government work have different opinions.

Would anyone who is currently an attorney in the federal government mind PMing me their resume? It would be tremendously helpful to have a trustworthy template to work with.

Thank you!

Anonymous User

Re: Federal Government Resumes

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Jun 12, 2023 1:57 pm

What kind of opportunities are you pursuing? In the USAO context, I used and saw people submit what I’d call ordinary lawyer resumes (also did so when I was applying for non-DOJ honors positions). I think that if you’re applying for an exempt legal job, a conventional lawyer resume is fine. (If you are applying for other kinds of jobs then it might make sense to try to conform to a more federal format.)

Also, if people within your own organization have differing opinions, there can’t be a clear standard and I think you can choose what works best for you.

DATlsatBOI

New

Post by DATlsatBOI » Mon Jun 12, 2023 2:15 pm

Anonymous User wrote:
Mon Jun 12, 2023 1:57 pm