Dealing with LSAT Burnout -- From a Tutor Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
Impetus LSAT

New

Dealing with LSAT Burnout -- From a Tutor

Post by Impetus LSAT » Sun Dec 03, 2023 12:42 am

You may have heard many people talk about LSAT burnout and how damaging it can be to your motivation. But what is burnout and how can we avoid it? In this post, we will discuss LSAT burnout and strategies to avoid or recover from it.

What is Burnout?

Burnout can be thought of as extreme mental exhaustion. The LSAT is of course an exam that requires focus and mental clarity. People who suffer from burnout end up underperforming as a result. As an LSAT tutor, I have seen the consequences of burnout from multiple students. If you are suffering from burnout, you may experience some of the following characteristics:

Uncharacteristic lack of motivation

Fatigue/Anxiety

Trouble comprehending or remembering basic statements

LSAT scores trending lower

Burnout can be a self-perpetuating cycle. Someone studies for the LSAT too hard or too much, leading to burnout. As a result, they get anxious and perform worse on practice tests. This in turn leads to more anxiety, and the individual mistakenly concludes the solution is to study for the LSAT more. Rinse and repeat.

I used to think that the more time I put in, the more progress I would see on the LSAT. While this may be true to a certain point, remember that the brain is like a muscle. If you exercise too much, it can do more harm than good. The same applies to the LSAT.

The simple solution to burnout is to take breaks. But this can be easier said than done. Let's discuss some ways to avoid and overcome burnout.

How do I Avoid Burnout?