My score is stuck Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
jorgeapaez

New

My score is stuck

Post by jorgeapaez » Sat May 30, 2020 7:38 am

Hello everyone.
So I have a problem.
I took my diagnostic LSAT from Khan Academy and got a 146.
So far so good.
I've worked my way through their stages and it took me to taking the practice test again.
I repeated the process and landed back at 146.
Basically, I'm getting stuck in the 136-146 range taking the actual test even though I seem to be doing well on the exercises and can't seem to break out of that cycle.
Like I said I'm doing just fine on the exercises, hardest part for me is Analytical Reasoning--which is very much a hit or miss for me. Sometimes I can fly through the problems and other times I barely make it, sometimes I don't pass at all.
Any help/suggestions?
Target score is 175, and I have 4 years to take the actual LSAT, since I'm a Freshmen undergraduate.

Thanks,

Jorge

IntellectualMode

New

Re: My score is stuck

Post by IntellectualMode » Sat May 30, 2020 10:27 am

Hi fella, I hope you're well.

Jorge I'm going to tell you about an opinion I've expressed on another post, but I think it's one that is relevant for your situation.

I do not think that Khan Academy is a good resource for learning the LSAT. It's great if you want access to a couple of free PTs, but other than that, I would stay away from it.

KA's learning resources cover nowhere near enough content that the average test-taker would need to get a score in the 170s. And the practice that you've been doing, well it's comparable to Duolingo's practice for learning languages, through the repetition of questions. The problem with doing this in relation to LSAT prep is that you eventually just know the answers without going through the right thought process.

Thank god you're a freshman so you've got time to solidify your GPA and prepare properly for the LSAT.
And speaking of which, I recommend you do the following.