I'm Getting Destroyed by the Time Aspect Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
Jumpors

New

I'm Getting Destroyed by the Time Aspect

Post by Jumpors » Tue Nov 26, 2019 12:35 am

I've been studying for a few months now, and I can say I have a pretty good understanding of most of the question types and how to solve them. What is killing me is the time limit. I've always been a slow reader, so when placed with the time constraints I find my self just trying to read fast and semi-guessing on the answers. I have taken 3 timed LSAT's over the past few months and my scores on the timed tests have not fluctuated at all. Whereas untimed I'm scoring in the 170s. What can I do to speed up my reading without losing out of comprehension? Thanks in advance.

Halp

Bronze

Re: I'm Getting Destroyed by the Time Aspect

Post by Halp » Tue Nov 26, 2019 10:36 am

Practice. Lots and lots of practice. Some light notation (ex:put a star by the main point) may also help. But mostly, practice. Also, it sounds to me like you’re trying to read too fast - slow down some. IME, your pace should be a little uncomfortable, but you shouldn’t be skimming at all.

HopefulSplitter0000

Bronze

Post by HopefulSplitter0000 » Tue Nov 26, 2019 11:16 am

Halp wrote:Practice. Lots and lots of practice
This is key. However, I will add two pieces of advice that helped me personally:

1. If you are slow on logical reasoning, practice isolating conclusions. The faster you can isolate conclusions, the better off you will be. Even if the actual reading takes longer, you will get your time back because choosing the correct answer will be easier.

2. For reading comprehension, if you are reading slowly, you may have to sacrifice some questions and guess at the end. Better to answer 23 or 24/27 questions to the best of your ability than to answer all 27 without confidence because you are rushing.