Another LSAT Guide & Story : 153 to 173 in 7 months. Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
Frozinite

New

Another LSAT Guide & Story : 153 to 173 in 7 months.

Post by Frozinite » Fri Feb 21, 2014 2:04 am

I have had some people asking me for my study method, so I decided to write this up so I could share with everyone. I started studying for my LSAT in March 2013 with a cold diagnostic score of 153. Just to give you an idea of where I started out, I have an engineering background and have also been out of school for 5 years, so my entire life has been numbers and code. I also wasn't a big reader and hadn't read anything at all advanced/high level/difficult since high school. I worked myself all the way up to a PT average of 176, finally scoring a 173 at the October 2013 LSAT (test jitters during the first section got to me!)

Here is my guide to what I did while studying and looking back, what I should have done. As usual, this method doesn't necessarily work for everyone, so take everything with a grain of salt and adjust it for your own style, abilities and time constraints. This is also in no way a guarantee. Be mindful of the hours that I've listed and know how much studying and effort is required during this entire process.

Books:
1. Powerscore Bible - Logical Reasoning, Logic Games
2. Manhattan LSAT - Logical Reasoning, Reading Comprehension
3. The LSAT Trainer

Drill packets:
1. Cambridge LSAT - PT 1-38 grouped by type - Logical Reasoning, Logic Games ** See Update On This In Below Post **

Question Explanations:
1. 7sage videos (LG)
2. Manhattan LSAT forums (LR + RC)

Practice Tests:
1. PT 39-69 (obviously append to this as time goes on)

My schedule:
The first part of my studying started with the Powerscore books. I was spending about 1 hour per weekday and 2-3 hours per weekend day.