Do resume gaps affect success at OCI? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
churrochi

New

Do resume gaps affect success at OCI?

Post by churrochi » Mon Jun 02, 2014 10:30 am

Hey all. Anyone with significant resume gaps of 4+ months between undergrad and law school that can shed some light on how that plays into OCI? I graduated in August 2013, and took time off to take care of my dad (who had surgery around that same time) and study for the LSAT full-time. Things unfortunately didn't go according to plan, and in short -- I'm retaking this September. I interned at a pro-bono legal office from January 2014-April 2014, and have been out/unemployed for a month now. Will gaps in my resume from August-December and April-present hurt my chances at OCI?

I do freelance work in editing/proofreading from my home, but I can't imagine that would suffice as a filler for the gaps in my resume for a significant amount of time. The work doesn't come in that regularly; just whenever someone expresses interest. Should I be looking for a job to do on the side while I study, and if so, would a "whatever job" like retail/grocery stores/etc. suffice, or should I look for something more related to law? What about volunteering?

Thanks for the help!

kartelite

Bronze

Re: Do resume gaps affect success at OCI?

Post by kartelite » Mon Jun 02, 2014 11:37 am

I really don't think that four months is going to raise any eyebrows in most professional industries. I took six months off between jobs a few years ago to travel and do some language study (already had the offer in hand when I quit first job, but standardized start date for second position), and no one's ever asked me about it. I actually don't list the months in my employment history so I guess there's no way to tell there's a gap just by looking at my CV, so you could always do that. My brother took a few months off before and after his MBA, tons of people do this so I wouldn't worry about it.