Dreams BigLaw/T14 worth leaving my Finance career? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
david.billa

New

Dreams BigLaw/T14 worth leaving my Finance career?

Post by david.billa » Wed Jul 17, 2013 4:16 am

Hey yall,

I graduated from my undergraduate studies 3 years ago and I currently work for a Fortune 20 company as a financial analyst. For a while I have always wanted to go to law school and become some sort of a business attorney/corporate attorney dealing with restructuring, mergers, etc. Wanting this goal to possibly come true eventually I took the LSAT in my senior year of college and scored a 174 and I managed to graduate with a 3.72 overall GPA with a degree in Accounting.

I am hoping to matriculate Fall of 2014 so I will have a decent amount of work experience, solid rec letters, as well as pretty good numbers. The problem is I don't know if this is worth giving up my career route in the financial services industry. I am 24 and currently make around the 75-80k range with limited opportunities to grow without an MBA, but plenty of opportunities to transition to other roles at other companies so I figure if I decide to duke it out with law school I will be able to make almost twice as much upon graduating from law school if I hopefully land a Big Law gig of some sort at age 27-28.

The dilemma here is that I don't know if its ultimately worth it on the ROI to go back to school with a decent thing going on now. Everyone tells me to avoid law school like the plague but I figured with my numbers and experience I could manage to get into a pretty good program, but the last thing I want to happen is leave my current job and then go to law school only to find out that Big Law was too much of a unrealistic goal than I thought.

I apologize if this post was long! I would really appreciate any insight, feedback, words of wisdom.

englawyer

Silver

Re: Dreams BigLaw/T14 worth leaving my Finance career?

Post by englawyer » Wed Jul 17, 2013 7:15 am