Is environmental law a good specialization to get into? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
Think_lax86

New

Is environmental law a good specialization to get into?

Post by Think_lax86 » Sat Nov 27, 2010 1:29 pm

I studied environmental studies in undergrad and am very interested in environmental law and policy. With that being said I am worried with the recent developments in Congress (republicans taking control of the house and pretty much vowing not to make any moves on comprehensive climate change legislation). I am about to go to a law school based on their environmental law program, not their overall rank, because they have an amazing environmental law program. I want to know though if this is the right choice, and weather the field of environmental law is really worth getting into, or is it not really going anywhere?

OGR3

Silver

Re: Is environmental law a good specialization to get into?

Post by OGR3 » Sat Nov 27, 2010 1:38 pm

Specialty rankings mean nothing.

If the school is in a region where you want to practice and is either highly ranked or you can get a sizable amount of scholarship, that's one thing, but to choose a school based solely on a specialty ranking is a poor decision.

silveri

New

Post by silveri » Sat Nov 27, 2010 1:45 pm

If you want to practice environmental law for a private law firm representing corporate or municipal clients, there are a decent amount of opportunities for entry level attorneys.

However, if you want to work for either federal government or non-profit enviro orgs you should be aware that there are very few jobs for new graduates and the ones that exist are exceptionally competitive. Far more so than a typical "biglaw" job. Depending on where you intend to practice there may also be state or local gov't agency opportunities, but they tend to exclusively hire attorneys with experience as well.