Applying to Law school? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
awoken_soul

New

Applying to Law school?

Post by awoken_soul » Wed Jun 30, 2010 5:22 pm

I am a noob to all this graduate school mess. My question is, Would it be helpful to attain a master's degree before I apply for law school or take the lsat? I am currently attending a school in Arkansas and initially I was thinking about going to law school, but in order for me to be accepted at a top tier law school I thought I should build some credential. Please help me!!! I will be a senior in the fall and I need some advice whether I should study for the LSAT or the GRE?

Patriot1208

Platinum

Re: Applying to Law school?

Post by Patriot1208 » Wed Jun 30, 2010 5:23 pm

awoken_soul wrote:I am a noob to all this graduate school mess. My question is, Would it be helpful to attain a master's degree before I apply for law school or take the lsat? I am currently attending a school in Arkansas and initially I was thinking about going to law school, but in order for me to be accepted at a top tier law school I thought I should build some credential. Please help me!!! I will be a senior in the fall and I need some advice whether I should study for the LSAT or the GRE?
A Masters will not help you get into law school.

Great Satchmo

Silver

Post by Great Satchmo » Wed Jun 30, 2010 5:25 pm

From what people say, a graduate degree won't help you much as far as law school admissions. It will give you some time out of UG (although, still in school) to build some more interests and experiences to talk about, but it's not like you'll be able to get into schools you otherwise wouldn't have gotten into (as far as I understand it).

If you are a hard-science major, you could get a masters in engineering or something, and then go to law school (again, probably won't help you get into a better school), but then you could do intellectual property or patent litigation (maybe).