2016 Illinois Bar Exam Forum

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
ndbigdave

Bronze

2016 Illinois Bar Exam

Post by ndbigdave » Tue Nov 24, 2015 12:33 am

Hello All,

Long time lurker and first time poster.

I am a Michigan resident and went to a Michigan law school. Just passed the July 2015 bar and now looking to take the Illinois bar at the request of my firm.

From doing my basic research it appears my MBE score will "transfer" as it is within 13 months and meets the threshold of 141 (my score is actually right on 141).

Just as I did for the July bar, I will be working full-time and self studying. I utilized BarMax for the MBE, but that isnt really going to help this time around as I only have the "other half" to complete.

My questions involve prepping - what to buy for the essay portion just what to expect as it appears Illinois is slightly different from Michigan. Thanks in advance for some basic tips and just what to expect.

curious21

New

Re: 2016 Illinois Bar Exam

Post by curious21 » Tue Dec 15, 2015 12:34 pm

Interested in this as well. Considering taking the July exam as I passed the Texas exam this year, but I'm from Chicago and if I ever move, it will be back home.

I didn't work during the first time I studied but definitely will e working this time. Have a high enough MBE score so that should help. Will probably call BARBRI and see how much it would cost to study for the essays only, since I'm an "alumni" and used BARBRI for the Texas exam.

lawstudent002

New

Post by lawstudent002 » Thu Jan 07, 2016 7:20 pm