How do you get a legal assistant/ paralegal job prior to law school? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
CLS2020

New

How do you get a legal assistant/ paralegal job prior to law school?

Post by CLS2020 » Fri Jun 07, 2019 5:48 pm

Hello.
I just graduated from NYU this May 2019 with a BA in sociology and politics, summa cum laude. I really want to get a legal assistant or paralegal position with a BIgLaw firm prior to law school. To that extent, I have tried applying directly online and reaching out to out-house recruiters (like Nadine Bocelli), but I have heard nothing back. I am new to networking, but I have also given that a shot as well. My job search started from April to now. Maybe I am not trying hard enough, but I really want to get some insight as to how I should approach landing a position. I don't know if it is true, but speaking to a couple of my peers, BigLaw firms recruit legal assistants in cycles, and interviews and job offers were during the time of the Fall 2019 semester. If that is true, then I am way behind the game and was not in the loop of everything.
**I'm talking specifically about NYC legal.
Tl;dr. I need help getting an entry-level job ideally at a BigLaw firm starting ASAP.
Last edited by CLS2020 on Fri Jun 07, 2019 6:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

CLS2020

New

Re: How do you get a legal assistant/ paralegal job prior to law school?

Post by CLS2020 » Fri Jun 07, 2019 5:59 pm

If you have already gone through this process, how exactly did you do so? What advice would you give?
Thanks!

LaLiLuLeLo

Silver

Post by LaLiLuLeLo » Fri Jun 07, 2019 7:16 pm

I know some firms have programs where they hire new grads who are interested in going to law school as legal assistants for a period of time (18-24 months). I’d try to look into those, but I honestly dont know what the hiring cycle is.

What’s the issue with working outside of biglaw?

Vexed