Ask a lawyer anything Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
anattorney

New

Ask a lawyer anything

Post by anattorney » Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:19 pm

I've been practicing for 4 years. Was in biglaw for two seconds and now in a small firm/specialized practice area.

Near

New

Re: Ask a lawyer anything

Post by Near » Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:23 pm

How long were you in big law? Please describe your experience.

anattorney

New

Post by anattorney » Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:41 pm

I was there for about six months (started in 2008 and got laid off in the crash). I had two extremely busy months followed by four months of billing less than 5 hours a month.

For the couple of months I had work it was fine, I couldn't have personally sustained the pace over many years but the people were pretty nice if very office-politicky.

At this point, out of my class of 20something first years only one is still with the firm.

Trout et al

Bronze

Post by Trout et al » Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:51 pm

What did you do to land on your feet after being laid off after only getting 6 months of experience?

anattorney

New

Post by anattorney » Sun Jan 20, 2013 8:05 pm

I was very lucky. While I was off I volunteered full time in my current practice field (family law) and then found an entry level position to apply to. My initial salary was pretty bad, considering my debt load, but has almost doubled since I started.

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

Trout et al

Bronze

Post by Trout et al » Sun Jan 20, 2013 8:10 pm

What is a typical day like practicing family law?

Mick Haller

Silver

Post by Mick Haller » Sun Jan 20, 2013 8:15 pm