Application Advice for Practicing Attorneys Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

Application Advice for Practicing Attorneys

Post by Anonymous User » Sat Feb 03, 2024 3:13 pm

I graduated in Spring 2023 and am currently working as a biglaw litigation associate in the city I hope to practice in for the rest of my career. I'd really like to clerk for a district judge, but family circumstances make it impractical for me to move cities at this point in my life (even for just one year). I also like my firm and would want to return after clerking.

I applied to clerkships while I was in law school, but nothing panned out. My stats aren't stellar--top 25%, editorial board/note published in a secondary journal, and various other gold stars--and I only applied in my state, but I did get two interviews. I'm hoping to be able to secure a position after working for a year or two, but I have no idea how to go about that or if I stand a chance.