Research Assistant "Interview" attire Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
uwb09

Silver

Research Assistant "Interview" attire

Post by uwb09 » Wed Jan 19, 2011 5:41 pm

I handed in a resume/cover letter for a RA position this spring with one of my professors. He asked me to come by his office for 10-15 minutes on Friday to "discuss my RA application".

I'm a total jeans/t-shirt student, should I go full business casual for this? I was thinking just doing a nice button up with dress/casual shoes with nice jeans.

northwood

Platinum

Re: Research Assistant "Interview" attire

Post by northwood » Wed Jan 19, 2011 5:45 pm

You are talking to your professor about a job. Its a causal interview. I would say it depends on your relationship with the professor, but at least I would wear dress shoes, a nice pair of jeans and a button down collar t-shirt. Business causal would be fine. This is a business meeting to talk about job prospects, not a educational meeting to talk about the reading or course.

uwb09

Silver

Post by uwb09 » Wed Jan 19, 2011 5:51 pm

ya that's pretty much what I was thinking, thanks

beach_terror

Platinum

Post by beach_terror » Wed Jan 19, 2011 5:53 pm

I'd do brown shoes, khaki's, button down, and sweater for this. I think jeans are a no go for this.

Sinra

Bronze

Post by Sinra » Wed Jan 19, 2011 5:57 pm

uwb09 wrote:I handed in a resume/cover letter for a RA position this spring with one of my professors. He asked me to come by his office for 10-15 minutes on Friday to "discuss my RA application".

I'm a total jeans/t-shirt student, should I go full business casual for this? I was thinking just doing a nice button up with dress/casual shoes with nice jeans.
Don't wear jeans for any interview ever. No matter how casual the interview is. Be professional. I worked in HR and I cannot say this enough: Dress professionally. Jeans are not professional.