3rd Year Looking for Career Advice Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

3rd Year Looking for Career Advice

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Jun 12, 2024 3:54 pm

I was in big law for a year before I was stealthed. I was lucky enough to go in-house without any resume gap. I was in-house for almost two years before the company's financial situation resulted in mass layoffs, and I was laid off again. I'm now a temporary attorney with the state government thanks to an old boss at one of those aforementioned jobs. I still have "website time" at the in-house job, and am currently applying to private practice jobs without mentioning my current temp attorney job.

The job history on my resume makes me look like a serial job hunter at best, and incompetent at worst. In contrast to that narrative, I've received great reviews from attorneys I've worked with, particularly at the in-house position. I've been greeted with suspicion in my callbacks (which is fair given my resume) and haven't received any offers despite months of searching. Any thoughts on listing the temporary attorney position on my resume? On one hand, I'm concerned a resume that says "Big law -> in-house -> temp attorney" will make me radioactive for any position moving forward, despite the fact that I've just been quite unlucky. On the other hand, I could point to it as evidence of my competence because my old boss wanted to work with me again.