Should I ask for work? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Gucci Loafers

New

Should I ask for work?

Post by Gucci Loafers » Fri Mar 22, 2024 6:38 am

I'm an intern in a law firm sitting in the a transactional team. I barely got assigned work because it's a slow period for this industry; but even when I do, it's mostly boring and repetitive (e.g. reviewing contracts already reviewd, updating cross-references, and sometimes doing some legal research - which is more intelectual). I understand that you must build reliability first to get assigned more interesting work, but it's so depressing the mundanity of it that I can't stand it.

At this point, I spend my time learning other things and reading contracts or memos to not waste my time (seniors don't mind) so I can expand knowledge, and I also push back on any type of tasks that I don't find important.

So my question is what you would do in my position. Would you continue doing what I already do (I won't remain in this law firm so don't care about how my work ethic is viewed), or should I do something different? I prefer reading than wasting brain power on extremely boring things, but let me know your thoughts, maybe I have a wrong perspective on this situation, and you could offer some long-term benefits of doing even what I see as useless tasks.

gregfootball2001

Silver

Re: Should I ask for work?

Post by gregfootball2001 » Tue Apr 02, 2024 3:56 pm

Gucci Loafers wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2024 6:38 am