Stay working in Big 4 Comp & Benefits or do Tax LLM NYU? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Stay working in Big 4 Comp & Benefits or do Tax LLM NYU?

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Feb 01, 2024 3:02 pm

I've been working in the Big 4 doing Exec Comp & Benefits for a couple of months. I eventually would like to go to a midsize law firm or biglaw in maybe a year. Some people say it is very difficult to transition to a law firm while others say it is easy.

If it will be very difficult to go to a law firm, should i go do an NYU tax LLM? I think I will have no problem getting accepted because I have T14 above median credentials. My only concern is that I can very well end up back at the big 4. I was looking at their employment stats and 45% end up working at the big 4. So it seems like a huge risk. Thoughts?

hangtime813

Bronze

Re: Stay working in Big 4 Comp & Benefits or do Tax LLM NYU?

Post by hangtime813 » Thu Feb 01, 2024 6:26 pm

It's another shot at the apple but i'd probably only do it if i had a substantial scholarship if i were in your shoes.

Any reason why you didnt do biglaw right out of law school? Looks like you have solid credentials for it.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Feb 01, 2024 9:21 pm

hangtime813 wrote:
Thu Feb 01, 2024 6:26 pm
It's another shot at the apple but i'd probably only do it if i had a substantial scholarship if i were in your shoes.

Any reason why you didnt do biglaw right out of law school? Looks like you have solid credentials for it.