Appellate Practice in Biglaw? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Appellate Practice in Biglaw?

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Sep 15, 2022 4:06 pm

How hard is it to get into a specialized appellate group in Biglaw? I will be finishing an appellate clerkship with a semi-feeder next year and I graduated Magna from a T14. Is this sufficient or are these spots hard to get no matter the qualifications? And for anyone in an appellate group, do you actually do only appellate work? I would be happy to do motions work as well, but I want to do primarily substantive writing and I figured targeting appellate groups probably makes this most likely. Appreciate any insight.

DougEvans789

New

Re: Appellate Practice in Biglaw?

Post by DougEvans789 » Thu Sep 15, 2022 8:26 pm

That should be sufficient

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Sep 15, 2022 8:46 pm

DougEvans789 wrote:
Thu Sep 15, 2022 8:26 pm
It is neither necessary nor sufficient.

DougEvans789

New

Post by DougEvans789 » Thu Sep 15, 2022 11:22 pm

Anonymous User wrote:
Thu Sep 15, 2022 8:46 pm
DougEvans789 wrote:
It is neither necessary nor sufficient.
What? There are plenty of appellate associates with that resume. That’s not to say that OP will definitely get to do it—in any industry, some people sometimes won’t get to do work they’re qualified to do—but it’s not like OP is out of luck simply because (s)he lacks a Harvard degree or a feeder/SCOTUS clerkship

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Sep 16, 2022 7:40 am