Junior lateral very slow Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Junior lateral very slow

Post by Anonymous User » Sun Dec 05, 2021 6:04 am

Hi all,

I lateraled as a first year to another firm in order to switch geographies and have been extremely slow since lateraling. It's been a few months. I haven't billed more than 120 hours since joining. It's a different practice group than before, so I'm still learning. I have made some minor mistakes but I feel like the lack of reps makes it hard to learn (although I am improving). I have had a good attitude, am responsive, don't blow any deadlines, and have asked for work. Some of the senior associates have been giving me some guidance and mentorship as well.