Leave firm after 2 months?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Leave firm after 2 months?

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Jul 01, 2021 12:01 pm

I’m a 2020 grad and just moved to tertiary home market in a flyover state. We have about 3-4 go to firms that take ~top 10% of in state grads or basically any t20 grad with ties. I am at one of these firms, and I’m happy here - albeit only been here 2 months.

One of the aforementioned 3-4 firms is in a tier of its own. Known around the state as being “the best” firm. They pay slightly more than my current firm. I have good reason to believe I’ll get hired there if I shoot over an application. My question is - should I even bother? Partnership prospects are about the same, pay is slightly better, firm is slightly more prestigious in the area.

I can see myself at either firm for 7+ years. The firm I’m not with was my top choice coming in, but they weren’t hiring a few months ago. It pains me that now they are, and like I said I’m still with a top local firm, but not THE TOP local firm. Fwiw, it’s a small market and word gets spread around. At the same time, I feel I may be early enough in my legal career to get a free pass.

Thoughts?

sparty99

Gold

Re: Leave firm after 2 months?

Post by sparty99 » Thu Jul 01, 2021 7:08 pm

No one really cares what you do.

Casper123

New

Post by Casper123 » Thu Jul 01, 2021 7:41 pm

Anonymous User wrote:
Thu Jul 01, 2021 12:01 pm