How long will a bombed 2L stick with your career?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

How long will a bombed 2L stick with your career?

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Jun 10, 2021 12:41 pm

I'm a T6 transfer student whose 2L grades are pretty terrible. Even if I miraculously pull off a great 3L, I'm looking at median AT BEST, but more likely need to accept I'm bottom third no matter what.

I have a SA with 100% offer rate; however, I know that laterally will be impacted quite negatively. My grades were bad and a confluence of many factors, but that will not be on the transcript any other people will see.

I don't expect big law forever, or even for very long. I understand that my later chances are probably completely shot, but is my career outside my firm basically done for? I would like to stay at my firm indefinitely but who knows what will happen.

I've asked my career services office but they are the opposite of helpful. They refuse to even tell me my percentile, tell me what my realistic chances are, and in all honesty I would have probably dropped out if a personal connection didn't get me the SA.

It is my understanding my 1L grades are irrelevant because they can from a much lower ranked school.

nixy

Gold

Re: How long will a bombed 2L stick with your career?

Post by nixy » Thu Jun 10, 2021 12:55 pm