Master Degree for IP Law

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
puppytiff

New

Master Degree for IP Law

Post by puppytiff » Sat Nov 14, 2020 11:53 am

I have a undergraduate degree in Chemical Engineer and work experience in biotech industry before entering law school. But most of the IP position for biotech industry prefers PhD.

Would it help my chance of landing a job as associate in IP practice if I get a master degree in EE or CS?

Anonymous User

Re: Master Degree for IP Law

Post by Anonymous User » Sat Nov 14, 2020 3:42 pm

It depends. If you're interested in patent litigation or transactional licensing work, a BS is sufficient, though its more common for people in those practices to have also passed the patent bar. If you're interested in prosecution, it's tough to get a job with a stable/reputable firm without a PhD or a significant amount of industry experience.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Nov 19, 2020 2:16 am

Yes, it would help

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Nov 20, 2020 9:02 pm