GPA Cutoffs At Different Firms

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

GPA Cutoffs At Different Firms

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Sep 07, 2020 6:04 pm

Current Article III clerk starting to plan out post-clerkship options. I graduated from a T30 with a lower than average GPA and went straight to clerking. I'm hoping to get some insight into the GPA cutoffs at various firms, either generally or firm-specific. For instance, the GPA cutoffs at AmLaw 100 firms, V50s, V20s, etc., or specific firms in these ranges.

Also wondering if a D.Court clerkship (in SDNY/CDCA/NDCA/DDC equivalent) makes firms less sensitive to a lower GPA.
Last edited by Anonymous User on Mon Sep 07, 2020 9:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Anonymous User

Re: GPA Cutoffs At Different Firms

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Sep 07, 2020 6:24 pm

I have a hard time believing someone at a T30 with below median grades has one of the more desirable district court clerkships. However, even if that were the case, I still think you’d have an uphill battle given your school/grades. Your GPA cutoffs will probably be similar to what they were from 2L OCI, maybe slightly better.