Cold-email, job boards, networking, legal recruiters (2019 grad)

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Cold-email, job boards, networking, legal recruiters (2019 grad)

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Sep 02, 2020 4:42 pm

I graduated in 2019 and recently moved to a second/third tier market (I just became licensed to practice in that state too). The move was originally for a job, but that fell through due to the pandemic, so I'm left applying to random job openings on LinkedIn, Indeed, USAJobs, etc, as well as some cold emails here and there. Overall, I've only landed a handful of Zoom interviews over the past 4 months, and none have been successful so far. I graduated just outside T14, median grades, good internship experience, but haven't worked since I graduated in 2019. I'm open to any type of law at this point, but I've been avoiding smaller firms around the state for now (some will occasionally reach out to me on Indeed, so I'll keep those firms, as well as Doc Review in the backpocket).

It's time to really switch up my strategy, so any advice on some of my initial thoughts would be greatly appreciated. First, should I consider a Legal Recruiter, and if so, which one? I don't have a ton of money, so is this even worth it? I have plenty of free time to research firms (as well as network), which cost me nothing, but I'd consider a legal recruiter if one would really make a difference.