Long term goals: making partner vs. alternative Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Bobray20032003

New

Long term goals: making partner vs. alternative

Post by Bobray20032003 » Sat Aug 29, 2020 12:01 am

Background: 3rd year IP litigation associate at V20 in major market. Electrical engineering background. My work has been focused on high tech litigation in D.Ct., PTAB, and ITC.

I've been working at my current firm since I graduated law school and have had a good experience. I've been decently busy-- as typical in litigation, my work flow has gone from 80 hours to 300 hour months. I've surpassed minimum/bonus hours each year. I do enjoy the work and think it's exciting and cool. The stress gets crazy sometimes, but I've coped with it well so far and it's nothing that I wasn't expecting coming in.

The past three years have just come and gone and I've mostly just done what I've been told (as junior associates do). But I feel like I'm slowly reaching the point in my career that I have to take my career in my own hands and think long-term, or at least start thinking about and becoming more cognizant of how my career could potentially evolve in the future.