LEO ----> white collar defense/investigations Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

LEO ----> white collar defense/investigations

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Aug 11, 2020 8:29 am

I wanted to get the opinion of those who practice white collar defense/government investigations as to the possibility of breaking into this practice area from a non-traditional background. I have been a police officer for over 8 years, 5 of which has been as a detective focusing on major felonies (anything from theft right up to homicide). I have made it a point to become the go-to guy in my squad for financial crimes (not securities type crimes, think fraud and money schemes mostly) and I have also taken on a lot of additional work in the realm of digital forensics. I went to law school (northeast school that approaches on the top 50) part-time evenings while working, graduated in 2018 and passed the bar in 2019. Given that timeline, I basically missed the boat on the traditional associate path at this point. If I was to make a jump into private practice with the goal of ultimately doing work in white collar defense, do you think this is something I would have an avenue directly into? Or, would I be best served getting into a general criminal defense firm and hope to pick up financial crimes type work and lateral after a few years? I really do not want to be pigeon holed into blue collar defense though, which I assume is a risk of going into a criminal defense boutique. Thanks all.

Anonymous User