When will post-clerkship hiring return from the war?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

When will post-clerkship hiring return from the war?

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Jul 29, 2020 11:39 pm

I'm a 2019 grad coming off of a federal clerkship in what I'd call a medium city (everyone knows where it is, and a handful of AmLaw firms have offices here, but it isn't a major market). I've been job searching basically since January with no luck. In January, I was told to wait until June or so to start searching for real. Of course, all that blew up when COVID happened. I had some promising interest from two of the bigger firms in the area, but both of them eventually decided not to hire any associates at all. I've also been ghosted by firms post-interview a couple times, which has been interesting.

I've been working with a recruiter a little (in addition to my own efforts), and that's worked better than anything I've done on my own, although it's still pretty dead. I'm admitted in Texas, and have been focusing my search there. I've currently got an offer from a firm to work as a contract associate with the hope of transitioning to full-time. As much as I like this firm, though, it's still entirely possible the full-time thing could fall through and I'll be back job searching after the contract term is up, so that's terrifying.