Talk to me about compliance Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
lawyercs1013

New

Talk to me about compliance

Post by lawyercs1013 » Tue Jul 07, 2020 11:14 am

I graduated last year and am currently clerking in state court. I am considering taking a compliance offer at a mid-size bank. Can anyone share any insight as to the pros and cons of compliance and what I can expect in regards to career path etc?
I don't need biglaw money right now but I would at some point in my career like to make $150k. Is this realistic in compliance after 8-10 years?
What most attracts me to the compliance arena vs. actual practice is the work-life balance. I have little kids and the idea of being a slave to the billable hour doesn't really appeal to me. I have a spouse who makes a good salary in a stable field and have some law school debt but its definitely manageable.
Does anyone have any insight?

Anonymous User

Re: Talk to me about compliance

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Jul 07, 2020 12:42 pm