Getting a LLM in Tax after a few years of practice?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
estest

New

Getting a LLM in Tax after a few years of practice?

Post by estest » Fri Jul 03, 2020 1:01 am

Grateful for your thoughts / advice on this.

By way of a background, I'm a lawyer practising tax law in Australia. I've always been interested in practising in the States, especially now since I have immediately family there (which also simplifies visa processing etc.). I was planning to do a LLM in Tax this year but, thanks to COVID-19, starting in 2021 would realistically be the best option for me. However, that means that I'll have about 4 years of tax practice under my belt before I undertake my Tax LLM. Is that a bit too "late" for a Tax LLM, particularly if I'm hoping that it'll increase my employability in the US? My impression is that the Tax LLM is more geared towards new law school graduates, including those who want another chance at biglaw etc.