Path to lit boutique for recent grad

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Path to lit boutique for recent grad

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Jul 02, 2020 3:12 pm

Hi, I'm a recent T6 grad, above median, heading to biglaw and then coa clerkship after one year. How can I maximize my chances of working at a lit boutique (or even a place like QE) if I'm not at the top of my class? Will another clerkship help or hurt? Are my grades too much to overcome? Boutiques seem better for gaining substantive/interesting lit experience earlier on. I don't really care about the prestige/name of biglaw firms, I just want to actually litigate. I'm not picky on geography, any of NYC, CA, TX, Chicago will do :D

Anonymous User

Re: Path to lit boutique for recent grad

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Jul 02, 2020 4:56 pm

Anonymous User wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 3:12 pm
Hi, I'm a recent T6 grad, above median, heading to biglaw and then coa clerkship after one year. How can I maximize my chances of working at a lit boutique (or even a place like QE) if I'm not at the top of my class? Will another clerkship help or hurt? Are my grades too much to overcome? Boutiques seem better for gaining substantive/interesting lit experience earlier on. I don't really care about the prestige/name of biglaw firms, I just want to actually litigate. I'm not picky on geography, any of NYC, CA, TX, Chicago will do :D