FBI special agent back to law practice

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
morrissey

New

FBI special agent back to law practice

Post by morrissey » Sun Jun 07, 2020 9:56 pm

Does anyone have any insight on a transition from FBI special agent back to practicing law? Is it realistic to move from agent to attorney within the FBI or USAO/DOJ/big fed? How about into private practice (other than going solo or very small firms)?

For reference, I have about 4 years of legal experience as a state prosecutor.

Anonymous User

Re: FBI special agent back to law practice

Post by Anonymous User » Sun Jun 07, 2020 11:56 pm

So I'm at a USAO. While I think I know of a couple of people that have gone from law school to being an agent, I haven't really seen anyone do the transition you're suggesting. And while I think my office would potentially be interested in someone who went FBI --> law school, I think going law school --> FBI and then applying for attorney positions again would raise serious questions about why you stopped being an attorney and why you now want to stop being an agent.

The other issue, I think, is that the application/training requirements are significant enough, the FBI would be hesitant to hire someone as an agent if they thought they were only going to do it for a few years and then go back to law. (Not that everyone necessarily stays for years, but they don't want to invest in short-timers, so it's not a career path they anticipate.)