Los Angeles Law Firms - Car home policy? Also, where do people usually live?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Los Angeles Law Firms - Car home policy? Also, where do people usually live?

Post by Anonymous User » Fri May 22, 2020 8:45 pm

Anonymous because of some potentially identifying characteristics.

I've been practicing at a New York big law firm for the last 4 years, but have a few interviews set up for LA firms. Standard practice for NY firms if that if I expect to stay past 8 p.m., I can expense a cab/car ride to the firm. Is that still a thing in LA, where most everyone drives to work? Would I be able to cab home on the firm's dime, provided I got back in the morning via public transit or something?

Relatedly, are the firm "benefits"/"perks" (for lack of better words) any different in general from NYC firms?

Lastly, I'm hoping to land at a Century City law firm, but am curious about which areas people tend to live in for both Century City and DTLA law firms. I grew up in the South Bay but that seems a bit far from where work would be. Is Culver common? La Brea?

Thanks!

replevin123

New

Re: Los Angeles Law Firms - Car home policy? Also, where do people usually live?

Post by replevin123 » Sat May 23, 2020 12:53 pm

Curious what the car situation is like for other non NYC big cities like Chicago, SF, Houston, Dallas, and Atlanta

Anonymous User

Re: Los Angeles Law Firms - Car home policy? Also, where do people usually live?

Post by Anonymous User » Sat May 23, 2020 5:52 pm