Leveraging fed analyst into fed attorney Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Leveraging fed analyst into fed attorney

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Mar 12, 2019 11:19 pm

I graduated law school four years ago and took a non-legal job at a DOD agency right out of school. I had several non-legal federal and think tank jobs before/during law school. My general field interests me, but I would like to transition into a legal role to give myself more options down the road besides contractor. I plan to sit for the bar for the first time this July.

Beyond passing the bar, my biggest problems seem to be twofold:

(1) I am a GS-13 with zero legal experience. While I could spin my prior work as having a loose legal/policy and strong research nexus, I can't think of a great reason for an agency to pick me up at 13 when they could hire a fresh grad (with more legal experience) at 11. I could potentially take a cut, but that obviously wouldn't be ideal, and I may just get screened out when they see my SF-50.

(2) I was a pretty mediocre law student at a pretty mediocre school, and there's very little chance I would've been considered as a direct legal hire out of school at any agency. I have a Master's in International Affairs from a much better program that has been more relevant to my career progression so far.