Question for my PI attorneys Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
riisq

New

Question for my PI attorneys

Post by riisq » Tue Jan 19, 2016 11:04 pm

How quickly is a first-year personal injury attorney expected to settle a case? I graduated 2014. Struggled to find a job for a while due to shit grades T25. Finally got a gig and it's in an area I enjoy. I want to succeed.

Anonymous User

Re: Question for my PI attorneys

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Jan 20, 2016 10:45 am

That's about as generic a question as you could ask. I'd be happy to answer some more specific questions that you might have.

riisq

New

Post by riisq » Wed Jan 20, 2016 11:13 am

Is it really that generic? I ask because I assumed that's the primary objective unless it strategically makes sense to go to trial. My understanding is that you try to settle for a favorable amount, while at the same time trying to get through discovery and place yourself on the trial calendar as quickly as possible.

As a new guy I don't handle complicated matters just slip and falls really. The leadership at my firm don't provide much training either. I have been learning on the go which makes me nervous. I just want to make sure I'm not setting myself up for failure by not closing out files quickly enough.

Is it possible to PM you for further advice?

LeDique

Diamond

Post by LeDique » Wed Jan 20, 2016 11:35 am