Disclosing disability to employers... Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Manali

Bronze

Disclosing disability to employers...

Post by Manali » Fri Jan 15, 2016 10:45 am

I'm a law student with a disability and I am wondering whether I should disclose it to supervisors at work. Has any one done this in a legal setting to get accommodations or just be open and honest? Is it still risky? Has it backfired for anyone?

Anonymous User

Re: Disclosing disability to employers...

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Jan 15, 2016 10:51 am

You know, there is a law about this. I would start with google

Manali

Bronze

Post by Manali » Fri Jan 15, 2016 10:59 am

Anonymous User wrote:You know, there is a law about this. I would start with google
Nice anon abuse. I realize that. But the law on the books and how the law works in real life is different. I'm asking about anecdotes of people's personal experiences.

jimmythecatdied6

Bronze

Post by jimmythecatdied6 » Fri Jan 15, 2016 11:05 am

Sorry - I inadvertently posted anon. Again, I would use google. Good luck.

grand inquisitor

Gold

Post by grand inquisitor » Fri Jan 15, 2016 11:05 am

if you are just informing to inform, i would shy away from doing so. if you are informing because there is a possibility you will seek an accommodation in the future, then do so knowing you may face repurcussions.

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

zot1

Gold

Post by zot1 » Fri Jan 15, 2016 11:37 am