SoCal Insurance Defense Associate Taking Questions for the Day Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Mr. Jones

New

SoCal Insurance Defense Associate Taking Questions for the Day

Post by Mr. Jones » Fri Sep 11, 2015 11:43 am

2nd year associate who works at a midish size firm (170) attorneys where I am part of the insurance defense practice group; particularly, workers' compensation and subrogation. I graduated from a local school in the top third of my class and got the job shortly after taking the Bar Exam. I'll be taking questions for the day.

hangtime813

Bronze

Re: SoCal Insurance Defense Associate Taking Questions for the Day

Post by hangtime813 » Fri Sep 11, 2015 12:19 pm

Thanks for doing this.

How's the compensation? Do a lot of people lateral into bigger firms?

Mr. Jones

New

Post by Mr. Jones » Fri Sep 11, 2015 12:41 pm

Compensation is good, not Biglaw Civil litigation good (we also don't have the hours), but still good. Most insurance defense has a fairly low base salary (90-100k) for 2nd years with bonuses based upon hours billed. Keep in mind, insurance defense work is easy billing--much easier than civil. So, a good associate who knows how to bill can make 30-50k in bonuses per year depending on the firm. So, back to my original point, not biglaw good, but still very good especially considering quality of life etc.