(3.9/172) Advice applying to law school after leaving med school Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ourobore

New

(3.9/172) Advice applying to law school after leaving med school

Post by ourobore » Mon Nov 06, 2023 12:00 am

Hello,

Looking for some advice and perspective.

I withdrew from medical school last year after one semester, with the intention to pursue law school. I passed all my classes in med school (the curriculum was pass/fail), but knew in my gut from (before) the start that medicine was wrong for me. I had intended to go to law school from the start of college, and am happy that I have finally chosen to follow my heart instead of what other people expect from me.

My GPA is a 3.9 and my LSAT is a 172. I majored in a humanities field. I have fairly significant volunteer experience and >1 year of full-time work experience (not in a law-adjacent field). Any thoughts on if I have chances at T14/T30, and/or what I might expect from the coming cycle? I know in my case an addendum and strong narrative will likely be important. I anticipate having strong letters.

I am worried that this career change will be a scarlet letter for me, but hoping that decent stats and a solid personal statement/application will help. I would really appreciate any thoughts here. Thank you!

nealric

Re: (3.9/172) Advice applying to law school after leaving med school

Post by nealric » Mon Nov 06, 2023 9:54 am

ourobore wrote:
Mon Nov 06, 2023 12:00 am
Hello,

Looking for some advice and perspective.

I withdrew from medical school last year after one semester, with the intention to pursue law school. I passed all my classes in med school (the curriculum was pass/fail), but knew in my gut from (before) the start that medicine was wrong for me. I had intended to go to law school from the start of college, and am happy that I have finally chosen to follow my heart instead of what other people expect from me.