Too little classes? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
MoreAsMorePay

New

Too little classes?

Post by MoreAsMorePay » Fri Nov 25, 2022 11:48 pm

I'm a sophomore transfer student at a school on a quarter system, and because of classes I took as a visiting student on a gap year I could graduate a quarter early taking only three classes a quarter, which counts as a full course load at my school. However, the usual course load at my school is four classes a quarter. Would I be putting myself at a disadvantage if I continue taking three classes a quarter? Also, apologies for the stupid username.

Eve2022

New

Re: Too little classes?

Post by Eve2022 » Mon Jan 02, 2023 7:36 pm

It is hard to say if you are putting yourself at a disadvantage by taking three classes per quarter. It really depends on how well you can manage taking fewer classes while still getting the same quality of education as someone who takes four classes. If you find that you have enough time to review your materials and do an adequate amount of work, then it is probably fine. However, if you are having trouble keeping up with your studies and need more time to really understand the material, then taking four classes may be a better option for you. It really depends on what works best for you given your unique circumstances.

melgibsonfan

New

Post by melgibsonfan » Thu Jan 05, 2023 7:44 pm

MoreAsMorePay wrote:
Fri Nov 25, 2022 11:48 pm
I'm a sophomore transfer student at a school on a quarter system, and because of classes I took as a visiting student on a gap year I could graduate a quarter early taking only three classes a quarter, which counts as a full course load at my school. However, the usual course load at my school is four classes a quarter. Would I be putting myself at a disadvantage if I continue taking three classes a quarter? Also, apologies for the stupid username.