Previous law degrees

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
pan_kasper

New

Previous law degrees

Post by pan_kasper » Sun Feb 07, 2021 12:52 pm

Hey everyone,

I got a question regarding JD applicants who already hold some previous law degrees from different countries. It seems to be very uncommon and I'm not sure how it is being looked at by the admission officers.

I am an international student from Europe and I already have two law degrees. LLB from a middle-ranked school in England (graduated with 2:1 honours), and an LLM from a very prestigous university in China. On my LLM degree I am also the no.1 student on my year. Now, i'm not really looking to get any special treatment for having 5+ years experience in studying law. On the contrary, I am worried that the law schools will look at it as a bad thing, since it's very uncommon even among international students. Does anybody have any experience with that?

I have 174 LSAT and some really strong softs. I will be looking to apply to T6/T14 schools next cycle

cavalier1138

Re: Previous law degrees

Post by cavalier1138 » Sun Feb 07, 2021 7:57 pm

I can't tell you whether it will have much effect on your cycle one way or the other, but I definitely knew foreign students in my class who got their LLM before getting a JD. So this arrangement isn't going to be new for the adcomms reviewing your application.

pan_kasper

New

Post by pan_kasper » Mon Feb 08, 2021 9:29 am

cavalier1138 wrote:
Sun Feb 07, 2021 7:57 pm
I can't tell you whether it will have much effect on your cycle one way or the other, but I definitely knew foreign students in my class who got their LLM before getting a JD. So this arrangement isn't going to be new for the adcomms reviewing your application.
That's very useful, thanks! I guess I was worried that admission people would be curious as to why people like me would even want another law degree

The Lsat Airbender

Silver