Recommendation letter advice

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
strowos

New

Recommendation letter advice

Post by strowos » Sat Sep 05, 2020 12:42 pm

I'm looking for advice in determining who I ought to ask for a LOR for law school admissions (for fall 2021 entry). As context, I graduated from an elite undergrad institution in 2016 (so will be entering 5 years out of undergrad), where I earned average grades/GPA. I did not form any truly meaningful connections with faculty during my time. Four years will have only eroded what little stock I had with my professors (not to say that I was bad or came off as dumb, just I was not a standout student)

I have already come to terms with the fact that my LORs will be the weakest component of my application, but I am still looking to salvage as much as I can. I am basically only considering T14 schools. I'm looking for advice across 2 vectors:

1) Is it a terrible idea to submit 2 LOR's -- 1 academic and 1 professional (given my 4 years out of school)? Will this effectively disqualify me from any schools?

2) In determining who I should ask for the academic LOR, I have a few choices. They are ordered here from the person who knows me best to the person who knows me least: 1) Non-tenure creative writing professor (A grade) // 2) Prominent tenured professor (2 courses including a seminar, A- in each) // 3) tenure-track professor in course primarily for grad students at affiliate public policy school (A grade). Which do you think is my best bet?

I can provide more details/ context for the professors and courses if that's helpful.

Thank you!

nixy

Gold

Re: Recommendation letter advice

Post by nixy » Sat Sep 05, 2020 2:35 pm