I do not know which direction to take.

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
isogirly30

New

I do not know which direction to take.

Post by isogirly30 » Thu Sep 03, 2020 11:59 pm

Hello. I am 26 years old and a junior at university. My major is political science with a minor in international studies. My current GPA is 3.05 due to undiagnosed psychiatric symptoms, but I only expect it to go up to a 3.4 by graduation since I want to get cum laude. URM (Black) I also speak Spanish and Japanese. I have worked on and off since I was 16, but due to my mental impairments, I have made unethical mistakes getting hired then fired/quitting. I don’t know if that would impact my admittance, but I worry about that. I also had a misdemeanor class A charge dismissed.
I am worried that these things, including my credit, will affect me getting a job in M&A. I keep reading and watching that you won’t get a high paying job if you go to a school with no weight to its name, and it’s freaking me out. I have been looking into LSAT/GMAT prep, following tutors on social media, and reading a few books on deciding if law school would be right for me. I have been researching law firms, law schools, requirements for admission, and I am just overwhelmed. I spoke with my career advisor and expressed my concern, but it’s not alleviating my anxiety. I have recently looked into a JD/MBA program for M&A and considered the cost and if I am even good enough to get in. I have searched internships that could give me some insight if I want to do both or just one of them. A lot require a pursuant BA in finance, accounting, etc. I’m trying to be realistic about my career desires, but I honestly just don’t know if I am worthy of it. :(

cavalier1138

Re: I do not know which direction to take.

Post by cavalier1138 » Fri Sep 04, 2020 7:47 am