Chances for T14 ? (low LSAT&GPA and high GRE)

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
workharder

New

Chances for T14 ? (low LSAT&GPA and high GRE)

Post by workharder » Sat Aug 08, 2020 4:17 am

Plan to apply the 2021 cycle.

I graduated from a mediocre UC with a major in Economics and Econometrics. (GPA:3.53) Took LSAT once in Jan 2020 and got 161. Then worked pretty hard on GRE and got 335+.

I know my stats might be unrealistic for T14. Are there any schools that are relatively friendly with GRE? Or should I retake LSAT this October?

laanngo

New

Re: Chances for T14 ? (low LSAT&GPA and high GRE)

Post by laanngo » Sun Aug 09, 2020 9:29 am

workharder wrote:
Sat Aug 08, 2020 4:17 am
Plan to apply the 2021 cycle.

I graduated from a mediocre UC with a major in Economics and Econometrics. (GPA:3.53) Took LSAT once in Jan 2020 and got 161. Then worked pretty hard on GRE and got 335+.

I know my stats might be unrealistic for T14. Are there any schools that are relatively friendly with GRE? Or should I retake LSAT this October?
Have you considered applying outside of California? Cali law schools tend to be GPA sensitive, not the kind where you could get in based on a high LSAT. Schools publish and are ranked by their LSAT, not their GRE. I don't think many law schools worth attending would admit a student with a good Graduate Required Effectiveness if they showed insufficient Law School Aptitutude Testing
Also how's Merced as a college town?

The Lsat Airbender

Silver

Post by The Lsat Airbender » Sun Aug 09, 2020 10:28 am

If your LSAT score is from an actual administration of the test, it's going to control here. As a practical matter, schools have to report that score to the ABA, and, as a subjective matter, I agree with laanngo that they're going to put more weight in the LSAT as an indicator of your potential as a law student.

laanngo

New

Post by laanngo » Sun Aug 09, 2020 12:05 pm

The Lsat Airbender wrote:
Sun Aug 09, 2020 10:28 am