Honest Feedback- Should I Go to Law School?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Rebma90

New

Honest Feedback- Should I Go to Law School?

Post by Rebma90 » Fri Jul 10, 2020 3:28 am

- Non-KJD (I'll be 30 in Dec, and only have a GED currently)

- No kids or spouse to worry about/take care of

- Non-URM

- No GPA- undergrad school is 100% online, and though regionally accredited, does not calculate GPA (but is at our own pace, so I can feasibly be done with undergrad in ~2 years)

- 168+ LSAT (I won't be applying with anything less)

- Undergrad debt will be less than $5000.00, including student debt I already have from when I was younger

- Little to no softs (I work as a customer service rep for a home shopping network, and it's the best job I've had yet)

-I have little to no interest in big law or prestige. I'm much more interested in state/local politics, and/or opening my own private practice in criminal or family law eventually

- Schools I'm considering (not a full list): UTK Knoxville (<$20k a year sticker), CUNY (out of state), Uni of DC (out of state), George Mason (out of state, only with Scalia Law Scholars)

cavalier1138

Re: Honest Feedback- Should I Go to Law School?

Post by cavalier1138 » Fri Jul 10, 2020 5:40 am

Your school list is all over the place, and your career goals are a bit vague, so let's back up:

Why do you want to go to law school? Do you actually want to practice law? How much do you envision earning after graduation? And where do you want to practice?