Premed to prelaw

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Therro95

New

Premed to prelaw

Post by Therro95 » Sun Jul 05, 2020 10:13 pm

I am currently 24 years old with a BS in neuroscience. I was initially interested in going to medical school however I have changed my mind. One of my good friends is currently in law school, and seeing what he studies has sparked my interest in law. Moreover, I’ve always had interest in law but never thought i would be wanting to make it a career.

I graduated college with a 3.89 cGPA. After graduating, I have served as a project manager for a research company and have worked with a non-profit serving as VP. I am an URM.

What would be my next steps? I am not completely sure how law school cycles work but I would want to start law school fall 22.

AdieuCali

Bronze

Re: Premed to prelaw

Post by AdieuCali » Mon Jul 06, 2020 11:20 am

Some very general advice - other people can probably provide more specific advice on your situation and questions.

1) Figure out if you really want to be a lawyer. Law school and the practice of law can be quite different, so find lawyers in the areas you're interested in.
a) Go to https://chambers.com/, find the type of law you're interested in and the market where you would like to practice. Then go to the websites of the top firms in those categories, find associates or partners in those practice areas and ask for an informational interview. Lawyers love to talk about themselves and their practice, so you probably find a few to indulge you.
b) With your educational background, you would probably be highly qualified for the patent bar and some type of intellectual property practice or a life sciences/regulatory practice.