Unemployed and Quite Possibly Doomed

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
strawberryprincess7

New

Unemployed and Quite Possibly Doomed

Post by strawberryprincess7 » Wed Jun 03, 2020 3:20 am

Hello. I graduated from a top 20 USNWR ranked school with a 3.9 GPA back in the fall of last year and have been unemployed ever since. During the entire time, I was applying to jobs, but nothing has ever panned out after interviews. I've also been set back a bit struggling with depression, but I'm on medication now and trying to take care of mental and physical health. I'm just really worried, and I feel like a failure right now as to what to do. I don't think there's anything inherently wrong with being a bartender or doing some other service-related job, but I'm just worried how that would look like for law school applications. I just really want to work an office job for a large company, and I'm still applying as we speak because I want to take a 2 or three years off before law school. I want to get into a T6, ideally get one of HYS, but without solid work experience, I don't even know if I can get into. Any advice/feedback/insight/input would be highly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

cavalier1138

Re: Unemployed and Quite Possibly Doomed

Post by cavalier1138 » Wed Jun 03, 2020 6:37 am

Get any job you can, especially in the current market. It doesn't matter if it's an office job. If anything, jobs like bartending look better on law school applications because they make you stand out from the crowd of people who did their obligatory 1-2 years as a paralegal before applying.

Any work experience is solid work experience. Just get something that will pay the rent.

decimalsanddollars

Bronze

Post by decimalsanddollars » Wed Jun 03, 2020 9:42 am