Law School vs. Business School - How "fun" is law school?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Madden_Arps

New

Law School vs. Business School - How "fun" is law school?

Post by Madden_Arps » Mon May 11, 2020 6:49 pm

Hi all -- I'm in a bit of a unique situation that I'd appreciate some insight on. I'm currently a business analyst at a consulting firm (think McKinsey/BCG/Bain). My firm recently offered to sponsor my grad school. This is fairly ordinary course for my firm, but folks have traditionally gone to business school before returning to the firm.

I have always been interested in going to law school if not being a practicing lawyer and wanted to get people's opinions on doing that instead of getting an MBA? My firm is willing to foot the bill either way, so the cost would be a year of salary but I'd be guaranteed the same job on the other side either way (which I'm planning to take). MBA school sounds "fun" in terms of partying, travel, easy classes, etc. but I was a business major in undergrad and I think most of the classwork sounds like a waste of time. Plus with this whole Covid situation I'm not sure how much traveling I'll be doing. On the other hand, law school sounds much more intellectually stimulating and as I'll already have a job lined up I won't have to worry about grades. My concern is the environment in law school -- I'm interested in the material but I'd also like to have a life outside the classroom. What is the social scene like at top schools and would I feel out of place as someone with 4 years of professional experience coming in?

I took the LSAT my senior year and got a 175, so I'm confident I'll be able to get into a T6 school (ideally HYS). I haven't taken the GMAT but I'm fairly confident I'll score well enough to get into an M7 school.

cavalier1138

Re: Law School vs. Business School - How "fun" is law school?

Post by cavalier1138 » Mon May 11, 2020 8:03 pm

Madden_Arps wrote:
Mon May 11, 2020 6:49 pm