LSAC GPA vs junior college gpa vs University GPA Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
aniston958

New

LSAC GPA vs junior college gpa vs University GPA

Post by aniston958 » Sat Dec 29, 2018 5:04 pm

hi all, before studying for the LSAT and start aiming for a specific score, i wanted to ask how law schools might interpret my GPA . Here is the rundown:

-before I started studying at my university (top 50, top 20 in my major), I attended a junior college for my associate's, in which i received a 3.9 GPA.
-I attended the university, grades were good first semester, but my mental health got the best of me..not because I couldn't handle the rigor, but rather for entirely personal reasons. performance dipped for a number of semesters. have maintained nothing less than a 3.8 for the past 3 semesters after I began to control my illness once I remembered how much I wanted to be a lawyer. so Ill finish with my bachelor's with a 3.6
-however, my gpa calculated by lsac is a 3.7.

-I know that lsac gpa is an applicant's official GPA to send to law schools, but there is obviously a significant difference between my associates vs degree gpa. do you guys think that they would view me as a 3.7 or slightly lower than a 3.7 due to my degree gpa being lower?

- I feel that while they might be questionable of my ability because my junior college gpa was slightly higher which might make them think i couldn't handle undergrad, i feel like the fact that i performed with a minimum of 3.8 for 3 consecutive semesters straight should remedy that doubt, given that the rigor of courses which i made a 3.8 or higher was nearly the same as it was during the semesters when i under performed...it was really just bc i chose not to control my mental illness that i under performed. but i decided to take control of it finally which resulted in significantly higher performance.

cavalier1138

Re: LSAC GPA vs junior college gpa vs University GPA