Changing Majors and Failed Courses Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
MrWaterhouse

New

Changing Majors and Failed Courses

Post by MrWaterhouse » Sun Nov 26, 2017 12:33 am

I am currently a student at Portland State University in Portland, Oregon, and have just recently changed my major from a Communications major to a History major. Based on the credits I have accumulated so far, I am enrolled as a junior, which is when I made the switch. The last term of being a registered Comm major I failed two classes but received an A in the other. Because of the nature of the courses and the requirements for the History major, the failed courses won't go towards my new major since they were specific to the Comm major, but will obviously stay on may transcript.

My major GPA is 3.8 and I have never failed any courses before. I have a history of severe ADD, and tried getting off of medication, but that was obviously a mistake. Keeping this in mind, I am wondering what these numbers will do for my prospects of getting into Law School. I feel far more comfortable in the History department and am certain that future terms will be infinitely better, but because of what I have researched I am stressed out about the two failed courses and what they will do to my chances during the application process in the future.

IExistedOnceBefore

Bronze

Re: Changing Majors and Failed Courses

Post by IExistedOnceBefore » Sun Nov 26, 2017 12:50 am

What is your cumulative GPA and why did you not withdraw from the classes when you realized you were heading for trouble?

MrWaterhouse

New

Post by MrWaterhouse » Sun Nov 26, 2017 1:01 am

IExistedOnceBefore wrote:What is your cumulative GPA and why did you not withdraw from the classes when you realized you were heading for trouble?
My apologies. My cummulative GPA is a 3.5.